Developing A Curriculum to Advance Library-Based Publishing

Principal Investigator(s): 
Project Manager(s): 

The Educopia Institute and the Library Publishing Coalition (LPC), in partnership with the Public Knowledge Project (PKP), NASIG, and BlueSky to BluePrint, are engaged in a two-year
IMLS-LB21 research grant to design and implement a competency-based curriculum for library publishing.

This project will develop and pilot a suite of synchronous and asynchronous professional development offerings for librarians that will be open and free for anyone to offer or adapt. The resulting dynamic, extensible, multimedia curriculum will empower librarians to meet local demands to launch and/or enhance scholarly publishing activities. The project is poised to have an impact on the quality and quantity of library publishing services offered to scholars and students; ultimately it will result in a healthier, more equitable publishing ecosystem.



  • Katherine Skinner (Educopia Institute)
  • Melanie Schlosser (Library Publishing Coalition)


  • Carol Ann Davis (University of South Florida, NASIG)
  • Marilyn Billings (UMass Amherst)
  • Jon Cawthorne (Wayne State University)
  • Brad Eden (Valparaiso University)
  • Isaac Gilman (Pacific University)
  • October Ivins (Ivins eContent Solutions, SSP)
  • Sarah Lippincott (Independent Scholarly Communications and Digital Scholarship Consultant)
  • Nancy Maron (BlueSky to BluePrint)
  • Holly Mercer (University of Tennessee)
  • Kate Pitcher (St. Mary’s College of Maryland)
  • Kevin Stranack (Public Knowledge Project, Simon Fraser University)
  • Charles Watkinson (University of Michigan)

Policy Module:

  • Sara Benson, Copyright Librarian and Assistant Professor, University Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign;
  • Harriet Green, Interim Head of Scholarly Communication and Publishing, English and Digital Humanities Librarian and associate professor, University Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign;
  • Merinda Hensley, Associate Professor and the Digital Scholarship Liaison and Instruction Librarian at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign;
  • Janet Swatscheno, Visiting Digital Publishing Specialist at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library

Content Module:

  • Peter Berkery, Executive Director, AAUP;
  • Meredith Babb, Director, University Press of Florida;
  • Jasmine Mulliken, Stanford University Press;
  • Friederike Sundaram, Stanford University Press;
  • Dennis Lloyd, University of Wisconsin Press;
  • Mary Rose Muccie, Director, Temple University Press;
  • Brenna McLaughlin, Director of Marketing & Communications, AAUP

Impact Module:

  • John W. Warren, Director, Mason Publishing/George Mason University Press

Sustainability Module:

  • Laurie N. Taylor, Digital Scholarship Librarian at the University of Florida
  • Brian W. Keith, Associate Dean for Administration and Faculty Affairs at the George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida


  • Sarah Lippincott
  • Katherine Skinner
  • Melanie Schlosser
  • Nancy Maron
  • Hannah Ballard

For updates on this project (and other library publishing related news), sign up for the Library Publishing Coalition's Public News List.


This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.